Mansfield Harriers – Grand Prix Series

Rules of the Grand Prix

The Grand Prix (GP) is designed to promote friendly competition within the club, also to encourage participation in local events, particularly those run by other running clubs and charitable organisations.

The Grand Prix year runs from 1st October each year and the first one will start in October 2016.

A list of designated GP races will be published on the club website. (GP events are clearly marked, 31 in total)

This will include mostly local races, but also some from further afield that attract a good number of our runners. There will be a range of distances and terrains and will include evening and Saturday races as well as those run on Sundays.

Points and scores

If a Club runner runs in a designated GP race, then they are entered in the GP Championship. Points are awarded after the publication of each set of results: First runner home for Club: 20 points, reducing to 19, 18 etc. for successive runners. If more than 20 runners compete in each gender category, then the appropriate highest number will be awarded.

Points are calculated separately for men and women.

For 2016/17 season a runner must run a minimum of Eight GP races to qualify for an award. We will review this for 2017/18.

The best Eight race results are selected and points added to determine the final score. If two or more runners have the same points score, then the best eight races for those runners are taken and so on until a winner emerges or one of the runners has no more races to compare. Only the same numbers of races are compared, so if one runner completes nine or more races, it’s still the best eight for comparative purposes between the runners unless the other runner(s) also complete(s) nine races. In the event of there still being a draw after all possible additional races have been compared then a judgement will be made by comparing only those races where both/all runners competed together.

All runners must enter the race under Mansfield Harriers & A.C

All runners must run under their OWN names. If a runner takes another runner’s name/number their position will NOT be counted.

Championships and trophies

There are two main competitions, each with a separate results table:

  1. Grand Prix Championship

The top 3 men and woman with the highest total scores (8 best scores) in the overall table will be awarded the GP Championship trophy.

Additionally, there will be a NOVICE category. These awards will be won by the man and woman with the highest points score who has never won a GP prize (including age category and pot-hunter) before. This is designed particularly to encourage new members to participate.

The man and woman who have earned the most Grand Prix Championship points in the season without winning their Age Category will be awarded the POT HUNTER TROPHY.

  1. Age Category Championship

All runners entered in the Grand Prix Championship will be entered into the appropriate Age Category Championship.

A runner’s age category is decided on their age on the day 1st October 2016. A runner in a particular category will only compete for points against a runner in the same category. The same rule applies in each Age Category.

Trophies will be awarded to the winner of each Age Category. If no-one in an age category completes the required minimum of 8 races for 2016/17 then that trophy will not be awarded.

List of events for 2016-17 Grand Prix

Final Results for the 2017 Grand Prix

Mens - 1st Andy Wetherill, 2nd Chris Allcock and 3rd Phil Shaw

Mens Age Group Winners - U40 Martin Fickling, VL40 Chris Allcock, VL50 Andy Wetherill

Mens Novice Winner - Sam Bradley

Mens Pot Hunter Winner - Gary Morley


Ladies - 1st Kahli Johnson, 2nd Bev Armstrong and 3rd Mady Collinge.

Ladies Age Group Winners - U40 Helen Pritchett, VL40 Kahli Johnson, VL50 Jackie Duers, VL60 Maddy Collinge

Ladies Novice Winner - Karen Kowalski

Ladies Pot Hunter Winner - Tina Copcutt