Mansfield Harriers were established in 1920 and in the early years a number of different training grounds were used. In 1958; with the newly created athletic track in Berry Hill Park, the club established it's headquarters changing it's name to the Berry Hill Mansfield Athletic Club and has since benefited from it's links with the Coal Industries Social Welfare Organization.

Mansfield Running Club was established in 1983 in response to the "Fun Running Boom" catering for adults specializing in road and cross country running and was a strong force in local leagues producing several international veteran runners.

Mansfield Harriers and Athletic Club was created in September 1995 through the merger of Berry Hill A.C. and Mansfield Running Club. This coming together was seen as a catalyst to seriously re launch athletics in the Mansfield area. The club has also linked with Nottinghamshire County Council to develop a 'Centre of Excellence' for disabled athletes.

Notable athletes who have represented the club include former internationals David Cropper, Adrian Metcalf,  Karen Hutchinson, Jacquie Beasley, Maureen Arnold, Jason Bryne and Lucy Martin. Among current and recent members are Billy Farquharson, Ricky Soos, Lee Garrett, Ian Morton and Rob Newton who have all represented their country. The club also boasts many English Schools, AAA, Midland and County Champions in it's ranks, both past and present.